Hays County Emergency Services District No. 3

Emergency services districts (ESDs) are political subdivisions of the State of Texas, operating under the Constitution of Texas, Chapter 775. An ESD is much like a school district or a county. As Texas outgrows the abilities of cities and rural volunteer fire departments, ESDs are on the cutting edge of providing fire protection and emergency medical response.

The ESD's role is to collect taxes from the citizens of its respective district and utilize those revenues for emergency services. Those services provided by Hays County ESD#3 include Fire and allied services, First Responder (including EMS) ,and water rescue.  

The Commissioners of the ESD are an appointed Board by the County Commissioners to oversee and guide the various activities of the ESD and its divisions.

ESD Contact Information:

Mailing Address:
Hays County Emergency Services District No. 3
3528 Hunter Road
San Marcos, Texas 78666

Email: admin@southhaysfire.com

Phone: 512-754-7963
Fax: 512-396-8051

The current Commissioners are:

Leighton Stallones, President

Tom Richey, Vice-President

Sharon O'Brien, Secretary-Treasurer

Lea Ann Kenworthy, Assistant Treasurer

Ross Britt, Commissioner


Hays County ESD#3 covers the southern portion of Hays County outside the city limits of San Marcos. For a detailed map click on Hays County ESD#3 Map.



HCESD3 Meeting Announcements & Agendas

Monday November 21, 5:00 p.m. -- Regular Meeting posted 11/18/22



Public Notices

    Order to Raise Taxes posted 08/29/2022

    Notice of Public Hearing on Tax Increase posted 08/12/2022

    Notice about 2022 Tax Rates posted 08/12/2022

    2022 Tax Rate Calculation Worksheet posted 08/12/2022



Historical ESD3 Information

ESD3 Financial Reports

2022 ESD3 Board Minutes

2021 ESD3 Board Minutes

2020 ESD3 Board Minutes

2019 ESD3 Board Minutes

2018 ESD3 Board Minutes

2017 ESD3 Board Minutes

2016 ESD3 Board Minutes

2015 ESD3 Board Minutes

2014 ESD3 Board Minutes

2013 ESD3 Board Minutes